Sister Act and Sound of Music

My family and I had the privilege of watching the play “Sister Act” at the Alhambra Dinner Theatre in Jacksonville on Saturday night to celebrate my mother’s 70th birthday. There were 18 people in our group. My daughter Mary stayed home sick from school today, and when I got home from work she asked if we could watch the movie “The Sound of Music” together. It is one of my all-time favorite movies, so I readily agreed. As soon as the movie started and the nuns came out, Mary declared that The Sound of Music and Sister Act are the same.

“Well,” I said. “They both have nuns and singing, but I think that’s where the similarities end.” But on careful reflection, I realized there are more similarities than I originally thought. Both Maria from “The Sound of Music” and Delores from “Sister Act” hide in a convent. There is danger and gun play in both stories. The nuns are the heroines in both stories. Good triumphs over evil in both stories.

The Alhambra has tiered seating, and there are no bad seats for watching the play. Much of our family was seated at the third tier away from the stage, right at the wall nearest the stage. My niece started dancing when people were dancing on stage, and when my daughter Mary noticed, she joined her. Our family figured it was all right, since the girls were about as far away from the stage as could be, and they weren’t likely to be distracting anyone from the play.

At the end of the play we got a BIG surprise! The nuns and several other cast members came out after the play to meet my niece and Mary. Fortunately my sister was quick with the camera and got a picture. The girls just glowed, they were so happy! And of course, seeing her grandchildren so happy made Mom’s 70th birthday party that much better.

14502863_1304628709556217_2166005720417310495_n-1

Happy Birthday, Mom! And many more!

Leave a Reply

