So This is 50

 

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve been 50 for ten whole days now. I’ve hit the half-century mark. My 30-year-old daughter planned my party (a Sound of Music theme). My 70-year-old mother made my birthday cupcakes using my great-grandmother’s carrot cake recipe. I collected my Facebook birthday greetings and printed them out…64 pages worth!

I don’t remember what I thought “50” would be like when I was younger. But I don’t think this was it. I recall at some point thinking 50 was “old.” I’m not sure what constitutes “old” now, but I don’t even consider my 70-year-old mother to be “old.” Perhaps my 89-year-old mother-in-law is old, but I’m not even sure of that.

I’ve enjoyed musicals ever since I can remember. In my 50 years of living, I can identify with the emotions lines from musicals bring on. “I could have danced all night” from My Fair Lady. “To every job that must be done, there is an element of fun. You find the fun and, snap, the job’s a game!” from Mary Poppins. The entire song “A Puzzlement” from The King and I. “Tomorrow” from Annie. All of the songs from Fiddler on the Roof have become dear to me since my family and I performed in the community production at Camden County High School in 2012.

I have accomplished much in my 50 years. Most importantly, I am a wife and a mom. I have held many different jobs, from fast food restaurants to offices. I have volunteered for causes I care about, like the Special Olympics, the Salvation Army, Care Net, and Justin’s Miracle Field. I graduated from college with a Bachelor of Science in Psychology in 2015.

I have learned much in my 50 years. I have learned the importance of kindness. I have learned the importance of offering and accepting forgiveness. I have learned that things done for selfish motives fade quickly, but things done from a heart of love last. I have learned that love conquers fear. I have learned that you don’t have to agree with people to be polite and kind to them. I have learned the importance of investing time in the people we love. With all I have learned, I think the most important is that I still have much to learn!

Leave a Reply

